## Tilton-Northfield Water District Annual Meeting April 10, 2018

In attendance for the Water District: Commissioners Roland Seymour, Arthur Demass and Sean Chandler, Moderator James Shepherd, Superintendent John Chase and Clerk Lynne Fox.

Moderator Shepherd opened the meeting at 7:00 p.m. and led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance. The Moderator then introduced those in attendance noted above (including himself) and the Supervisors of the Checklist.

## To the qualified voters of the Tilton Northfield Water District:

You are hereby notified to meet at the Pines Community Center, Dearborn Road, Northfield, New Hampshire, on Tuesday, April 10, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. to act upon the following subjects:

Article 1: To elect by ballot the following District Officers: Commissioner (1)...... Three Year Term Treasurer (1)...... Three Year Term District Clerk (1) ...... Three Year Term

Moderator Shepherd, with permission of the legislative body, dispensed with the reading of the Warrant in its entirety to deal with it Article by Article.

Moderator Shepherd opened the floor for nominations.

**For the position of Commissioner for three (3) years** – Roland Seymour nominated Sean Chandler, second by Arthur Demass; no other nominations were forthcoming.

For the position of Treasurer for three (3) years – Commissioner Seymour nominated Glenn Brown, second by David Fox; no other nominations were forthcoming.

**For the position of District Clerk for three (3) years** – Roland Seymour nominated Lynne Fox, second by Arthur Demass; no other nominations were forthcoming.

Nominations were closed, and attendees were invited to the voting box to cast their ballots. The voting box was sealed at 6:50 p.m. by Moderator Shepherd after review by Supervisor of the Checklist Bernard Chapman to ensure its integrity. Moderator Shepherd inquired of the body if all had a chance to cast their votes. All in attendance in agreement, he declared the polls closed. Moderator Shepherd ask for volunteers to count the votes. Vote count was carried out by Bill Lawrence and Mike Fitzpatrick. With the legislative body's permission, Moderator Shepherd moved on to Article 2 while the votes were counted.

## Article 2: To see if the District will vote to raise and appropriate the amount of \$567,168.00 for the operation of the District for 2018, with said sum to come from fees and charges; no money is to be raised through taxation, as recommended by the Commissioners.

Marie Mahoney moved the article to the floor, seconded by Roberta Bacon. Chairman Roland Seymour gave a review of the Budget, Water District loans, original amounts, refinancing, current balances and maturity dates. Marie Mahoney commended the Commissioners on their prudent management of the business and finances of the District; all in attendance joined in their commendation and offered thanks to the Commissioners. There was no further discussion.

Bill Lawrence called the question to vote on Article 2. All in favor, article passed.

## Article 3: To transact any other business that may legally come before the meeting.

Superintendent Chase gave an overview of the progress made by the Water District in 2017, the status of ongoing projects, and projections for future work. Since taking over the District ten years ago, there have been \$3,000,000 worth of improvements and water main replacements, including Howard Avenue, Luneau Court and Cofran Avenue in Northfield, and Winter Street in Tilton. It is their intent to continue major improvements every year, as continued maintenance results is less cost that repairs.

Returning to Article 1, Election of Officers for the District, voting results:

Commissioner for three (3) Years:	Sean Chandler	14
Treasurer for three (3) Years:	Glenn Brown	14
District Clerk for three (3) Years:	Lynne Fox	14

With no further business under Article 3, a motion to adjourn was presented by David Fox, seconded by Dzintra Alksnitis. Motion to Adjourn is nondebatable. All in favor, motion passed with alacrity.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lynne Fox District Clerk Tilton-Northfield Water District Tilton & Northfield Aqueduct Co., Inc.

Roland Seymour Commissioner Arthur Demass Commissioner Sean Chandler Commissioner